Transferring an active domain name involves switching the registrar company that handles the domain registration service, so after the transfer itself, you will have to manage things like renewal fees or DNS entry modifications through the new domain name registrar. The transfer procedure is standard with most Top-Level Domain extensions. Certain country-code extensions are more specific and involve different procedures, but in the general case transferring a domain name entails several necessary steps and one of them is unlocking the domain. The lock is a safety option, which is being adopted by more and more domain registry operators. It’s a default feature supported by all generic Top-Level Domains. If a domain is locked, it will not be possible to start a transfer procedure, so no one can even try to steal your domain. The lock can be annulled only through the account where the domain name is registered in the first place and all new domains that support this feature are locked by default when they are registered.

Registrar Lock in Shared Hosting

The Hepsia hosting Control Panel, which is included with each and every shared hosting package that we offer, will grant you full authority over your domain names. You will see all domains registered through our company conveniently listed in alphabetical order in a separate Control Panel section. Those whose extensions support the domain lock option will have a mini padlock icon on their right. By clicking on the icon, you can find out if the specific domain name is locked or unlocked and you can modify the present status by clicking once more – the process is as straightforward as that. You will not need to wait for the update to take effect or for our company to do anything, as the change of the status takes effect instantaneously, even if you see something different on WHOIS lookup sites. After all, it takes time for such sites to ‘refresh’ the info that they show.