Different from a shared hosting account in which the info is backed up by the hosting company, when you use a virtual or a dedicated hosting server you will have to keep manual backups since this sort of a service isn't provided by default. As good as a web server may be, there's always a chance that something could go wrong. For instance, you can delete some content accidentally or a script-driven application may get corrupted after an update. If you have a backup, you'll not have to concern yourself with this type of problems because the content can be easily restored. Considering that it may not be very practical to do this all the time on your end, we offer an optional backup service for all our web server plans and we shall store a copy of your content on an individual machine to be certain that it is undamaged no matter what. With the upgrade, you could work on your machine without worrying that you may lose any info due to any reason.